Jess Burns Memorial Prize 2015

The Jess Burns Memorial Prize is awarded each year to the Dunfermline Art Club artist whose work had been voted favourite painting by the general public during the clubs Annual Exhibition. The award comes with a £50 voucher for art materials. We are pleased to announce that the winner for 2015 is Ken Young for his watercolour painting “Tram Stop” (shown below). Congratulations to Ken on his well deserved success.

Tram Stop_01
Tram Stop, Watercolour by Ken Young


Doreen Dewar’s painting “My Best Friend” was Runner up and “Poppy Cluster” by Ann Clark was voted in third place. The total number of votes cast was 192 and a comprehensive list of these will be posted in the club.

Previous winners of the award were:

2014 Ian Roberts “Over the Top”

2013 Ken Young “Lothian Road”

2012 Peter Atherton and Jane Ferguson (Joint) “This’ll be the Day” & Untitled

2011 George Aitken “Crail”

2010 Vi Morris and Robert Walker (Joint) “Distant Harbour” & “Winter Sunset – Welcome Home”

2009 Nancy Taylor “Dunfermline Abbey at Night”

2008 Anne Hill “Dunfermline Abbey”

By Website Administrator

Website Administrator

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *